Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Car Registration in Alaska

    Registering a Car in Alaska

    All Alaska residents must title and register their vehicles with the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

    You can register your vehicle in person, or by mail if you meet certain requirements. You cannot register online or by phone.

    New to Alaska?

    NOTE: If you live more than 50 miles from an AK DMV location, you can complete the registration process by mail. If you do NOT live 50 miles away, you must register in person. See “Remote Locations” below.

    As a new resident, you must register and title your vehicle in person at the Alaska DMV office within 10 days of establishing residency or employment in Alaska.

    If you’re just visiting Alaska, you are allowed to drive your vehicle for up to 60 days with current out-of-state car registration.

    To register and title your vehicle, visit your local Alaska DMV office and:

    • Submit your vehicle title.
      • If there is a lien against the vehicle and the title is being held outside of Alaska, bring a photocopy of the title.
      • The DMV will issue registration only for vehicles with titles held out of state.
    • Complete the Application for Title & Registration (Form 812).
    • Provide a notarized power of attorney if your vehicle is leased, or you’re signing on behalf of the vehicle owner.
    • Have a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection from a DMV-approved inspector.
    • Submit payment for all registration/titling fees and taxes.
      • See “AK Registration Fees and Penalties” below.

    Registering a Vehicle in Alaska

    After purchasing a vehicle, you must title and register it in person at the AK DMV within 30 days. You cannot request an Alaska vehicle title through the mail.

    Effective January 15th, 2014 residents over 65 years old and/or disabled will receive permanent vehicle registration license plate stickers/tabs.

    Vehicles Purchased from a Dealer

    When you purchase a vehicle from an Alaskan car dealer, the dealer will usually submit the documents for titling and registration directly to the AK DMV.

    If your car dealer does not submit the documents for you, or it is located out of state, you must visit your local DMV office and:

    • Complete an Application for Title & Registration (Form 812).
    • Provide a signed Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or vehicle title.
    • Have a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection from a DMV-approved inspector, if required.
    • Submit payment for all applicable registration/titling fees and taxes.
      • See “AK Registration Fees and Penalties” below for more information.

    For information on license plate transfers, please see “License Plate Transfers in Alaska” below.

    Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

    When you buy a vehicle from a private party, the seller must sign over the title to you before you can register and title the vehicle.

    When you’re ready, visit your local DMV office and submit:

    • A completed Application for Title & Registration (Form 812).
    • Your signed title.
    • Any of the following documents, if required:
      • An odometer disclosure statement.
      • Notarized power of attorney.
      • A lien release.
    • The previous registration.
    • A vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection from a DMV-approved inspector.
    • Payment for all applicable fees for registering and titling your vehicle.
      • See “AK Registration Fees and Penalties” below.

    For details about transferring license plates, please see “License Plate Transfers in Alaska” below.

    Remote Locations

    If you’re a resident of Alaska but live more than 50 miles from an AK DMV office, you can send your Alaska car registration documents by mail.

    NOTE: Your documents will be returned if sent from a city with a DMV location nearby. You will be required to visit a local AK DMV office in person to register and title your vehicle.

    To send your vehicle registration documents by mail, you must submit:

    • A completed Application for Title & Registration (Form 812).
    • Proof of ownership, such as your:
      • Manufacturer’s certificate of origin, if purchased from a car dealer.
      • Signed title, if purchased from a private party.
    • Previous registration.
    • Either/both of the following (if applicable):
      • An odometer disclosure statement.
      • Lienholder information.
    • A vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection from a DMV-approved inspector.
    • Power of attorney; required if:
      • Someone besides the vehicle owner signed for the vehicle.
      • Your vehicle is leased.
    • Payment for all applicable registration fees.
      • For specific fees, see “AK Registration Fees and Penalties.”

    Enclose everything in a stamped envelope addressed to:

    State of Alaska
    Division of Motor Vehicles
    ATTN: CORRESPONDENCE
    1300 W. Benson Blvd., Suite 200
    Anchorage, AK 99503-3600

    License Plate Transfers in Alaska

    To transfer AK vehicle license plates from a vehicle you currently own to a vehicle you just purchased, you must:

    • Complete an Application for Title & Registration (Form 812).
      • Make a request in the affidavit section to transfer your license plate.
    • Include the plate number.
    • Enclose registration documents from both vehicles OR a letter with the serial numbers and vehicle descriptions.
    • Submit payment for the $5 fee with personalized check or money order, if applicable.

    Mail your application to:

    State of Alaska
    Division of Motor Vehicles
    ATTN: CORRESPONDENCE
    1300 W. Benson Blvd., Suite 200
    Anchorage, AK 99503-3600

    NOTE: Do NOT mount the plate on the purchased vehicle until you possess the new car registration and tabs for the plate(s).

    Military & Non-Resident AK Vehicle Registration

    Members of the military have different options for Alaska vehicle registration, depending on whether they are stationed in Alaska or out of state.

    Active Military Duty in Alaska

    If you’re a resident of Alaska and stationed in state, simply follow the steps listed above in “Registering a Vehicle.”

    If you’re bringing a foreign vehicle into Alaska to register, you must also submit (in addition to the documents mentioned above):

    • A current Leave and Earnings Statement showing Alaska as your home of record.
    • Military shipping documents, if the vehicle was shipped from out of the United States.

    Out-of-State AK Military Members

    If you’re an Alaska resident stationed out of state, and you purchase a vehicle while on active duty, you can register and title your vehicle(s) in the state where you’re stationed. You will be required to transfer the title and registration to Alaska when you return.

    If you choose, you may also submit your title and registration paperwork for a newly-purchased vehicle to the AK DMV through the mail. Follow the instructions listed in the “Remote Locations” section above, and additionally provide:

    • A current Leave and Earnings Statement showing Alaska as your home of record.
    • Military shipping documents, if the vehicle was shipped from out of the United States.
    • Your current address where you would like the license plates, title, and vehicle registration documents mailed.
      • Be sure to update your address with the AK DMV so you continue receiving your registration renewal notices.

    Your application will process within approximately 8 weeks.

    NOTE: When you provide an out-of-state address on your application, the Alaska DMV will NOT require proof of an emissions test. However, you must comply with the testing requirements where you’re stationed.

    Non-Alaska Residents in the Military

    If you're currently stationed in Alaska, you may drive legally as long as your out-of-state vehicle is registered in your home state. You are NOT required to register with the AK DMV.

    If you would like to register your vehicle in Alaska, follow the directions outlined in the “New to Alaska?” section above. You will need to complete a Military Affidavit (Form 828) for each vehicle to claim your exemption from paying vehicle registration taxes.

    Alaska Vehicle Registration Fees and Penalties

    Alaska Car registration fees vary by vehicle type:

    • Passenger car: $100.
    • Van or truck less than 10,000 lbs.: $100.
    • Motorcycle: $60.
    • Title fee (if applicable): $15.
    • Lien recording: $15.
    • Plate transfer: $5.
    • Duplicate registration: $2.
    • Duplicate title: $15.
    • Duplicate license plate: $5.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: Some municipalities/boroughs also charge a Motor Vehicle Registration Tax (MVRT). Visit the Alaska DMV registration fees page for a complete list of registration fees.

    Disabled and disabled veterans are eligible for 1 vehicle that is registration fee and MVRT exemption.

    Effective January 15th, 2014 residents over 65 years old and/or disabled will receive permanent vehicle registration license plate stickers/tabs.

    Custom-Built Vehicles

    In Alaska, registering a custom-built car requires a different process to registering a regular vehicle. You will need to visit your local Alaska DMV office and:

    • Have your vehicle inspected (if you haven't already had it inspected by a law enforcement officer).
      • You may be eligible for a trip permit for $5 that will allow you bring your car to the DMV.
    • Submit the certificate of title for the chassis of the vehicle.
    • Provide proof you own all major parts of the vehicle (such as bills of sales, receipts, and invoices).
    • A lien release, if there is a lien against the car.
    • A completed Reconstructed Vehicle Affidavit (Form 829).
      • Must be completed by whoever built the vehicle.
      • Must be notarized.
    • A completed Application for Title & Registration (Form 812).
    • Payment for the applicable fees. See "Alaska Vehicle Registration Fees and Penalties" above.