Dealer-related Information in Alaska
If you would like to receive an information packet and an application to become a certified motor vehicle dealer in Alaska, you may request an application in person or by U.S. mail by writing to:
- State of Alaska
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- Attn: Dealer/Fleet
- 1300 W. Benson Blvd. Ste. 300
- Anchorage, AK 99503-3691
If you write for a packet, please be sure to enclose a mailing address where the packet should be sent.
You may call (907) 269-3755 for further information. You can check the Motor Vehicle Dealer and Buyer's Agent information page on the AK DMV website, too.
All motor vehicle dealerships and buyer's agents must be certified to do business in Alaska. Here's the initial paperwork required to get the certification process started:
- A notarized surety bond for $50,000 ($25,000 if you plan to sell only motorcycles)
- An application for registration as a motor vehicle dealer or buyer's agent, with a notarized signature
- $50 registration fee
It takes approximately four to six weeks to process an application for certification of a new motor vehicle dealership.
Once you have been certified as a new or used motor vehicle dealer, your surety bond must be in force at all times as long as you are doing business in Alaska. Also, once you receive your certificate, it must be displayed at your business location.
Please keep in mind that these are the requirements for the AK DMV only. They do not include any other state or local licensing requirements, registrations, fees or documentation needed to legally operate a business in Alaska.
If you move your business, you must notify the DMV right away and send a copy of the surety bond showing the address change. Your certificate is only valid at the address on file with the AK DMV.
If you close your business while your registration is in effect, you must return your registration certificate, dealer plates, and temporary permits to the DMV. Dealership and buyer's agent certifications are non-transferable.
Your dealership or buyer's agent certification must be renewed every two years. The AK DMV will send a letter along with the necessary paperwork for your renewal, shortly before the renewal is due. Fees are the same as for the original license.
We have a listing with links for you to download motor vehicle dealer forms you may need in order to conduct business. The AK DMV provides the forms in PDF format, so you will need the free Adobe Reader to download and print them.
If your dealership is more focused on new cars, you might want to take a look at this page concerning the lemon law and consumer protection. You'll also want to keep track of any general recalls that have been issued.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.