Buying and Selling FAQs in Alaska
I can't find a certification label with my imported vehicle. How do I know whether it complies with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) standards?
You must directly contact the vehicle's manufacturer. If you need assistance gathering contact information, call the NHTSA's Office of Vehicle Safety Compliance at (202) 366-5291.
Can I import a car that's over 25 years old?
Even if the vehicle does not comply with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS), you can still legally drive it in Alaska. However, you must provide documentation that the vehicle is at least 25 years old. A registration form or an invoice documenting when the vehicle was first sold will suffice as proof. If you can't uncover proper documentation, the NHTSA will accept a statement from a certified vehicle historical society. When completing form HS-7, be sure to check box No. 1.
Where do I find information regarding exporting a vehicle from Alaska?
Are there are any restrictions I should know about if I want to buy my car in Canada?
Yes. The vehicle cannot be reconstructed or have salvage status. And you can bring it over the border only if it is for personal use. In other words, you can't hustle it into the state with the intent of selling it.
When crossing customs, you will need to present a letter from the vehicle's original manufacturer composed on the manufacturer's letterhead listing the vehicle's identification number and confirming that it conforms to all applicable FMVSS standards.
Does Alaska have a uniform Motor Vehicle Registration Tax (MVRT)?
The state as a whole does not, but some municipalities within Alaska do levy this tax. Check the complete MVRT list, which details respective community fees through 2010.
Are initial registration fees contingent on vehicle type?
Yes. Registering a car, for instance, costs more than registering a motorcycle or a farm vehicle. The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has a complete list of fees that covers all types of vehicles, including taxis and trailers.
How many days until my temporary license plate or permit expires on my new vehicle?
You can drive for 60 days with a temporary license plate, which must be displayed in the back window of your vehicle. If needed, you can file for a 60-day extension, but you must do so through the DMV. Dealers can issue only original temporary tags; they cannot authorize extensions.
Find New and Used Cars for Sale in Alaska
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.