Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Alaska
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
- 1) Choose Your License
- 2) Take a Driver’s Education Course
- 3) Prepare for the Test
- 4) Locate a DMV Office
- 5) Make Test-Day Preparations
- 6) Take the Written Test
- 7) Get a Car
- 8) Get Car Insurance
- 9) Take the Driving Test
- 10) Receive Your License
- 11) Non-Citizens
- Driving Privileges for Non-Citizens
Teen drivers have different driver’s licensing requirements than those who are 18 or who have just moved to Alaska from another state. Alaska offers the following driver’s licenses:
- Learner's permit: for those who are at least 14 years old, allows driving practice with a licensed driver at least 21 years of age.
- Class D License: For those at least 16 (with restrictions) or 18 years or older.
- Commercial License
NOTE: If you are younger than 18, you must first hold a Learner’s Permit for six months, then apply for a Provisional Class D License with your parent's consent, have at least 40 hours of driving experience (10 at night or in inclement weather), and not have had any traffic violations within the past six months.
Then your license will expire 90 days after your 21st birthday, and you must pass a drug and alcohol awareness test to get your non-provisional license.
For adults over age 21, your driver's license will be valid for about five years and expires on your birthday. Before your driver's license expires, you can renew it for another five years.
Younger Than 18― Alaska doesn’t require a formal Driver’s Ed course, but taking one is recommended. Courses are offered throughout the state and on the Internet. Many schools offer road testing, so ask before you sign up.
18 and Older― Even if you’ve been driving for years in another state, taking a formal driver's ed course for Alaska’s specific laws will help you pass the driver’s exam.
Make an appointment to take the test at your nearest DMV office.
- Get Form 478 from a DMV office, or fill it out as soon as you arrive. The form isn’t available online.
- Bring both primary proof of legal name and secondary proof (license from another state, school ID, employee ID, income tax form, military ID), as well as your Social Security card and proof of address.
- Pay the $20 fee for the written test.
- Pass a vision exam.
Alaska does not have any official accommodations for those with special needs, but if you need help, ask the DMV representative.
If You Fail
You can take the test again the following day.
Although you can always borrow a car to take the road test, you’ll still need one to practice with and drive around once you have your license. It makes sense to look into buying a car.
Consider how far you’ll be driving daily and choose a car that fits your needs. There are many good deals to be had for used cars. Don’t forget to get a vehicle history report first. there's also a program that for one fee, you have access to the histories of all the cars you look at.
With a car, you’ll need to shop around for car insurance. Get several quotes from different companies. Some offer discounts for good drivers, good students (they’ll ask for a report card), and more, so be sure to ask about what’s available.
If you are getting your license for the first time, you must successfully complete a road test given by a DMV examiner.
If you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license, you are exempt from the road test.
- Make an appointment at a DMV office or a third party test site. Some Driver’s Ed classes also offer road testing.
- Bring the test vehicle, proof that you passed the written test, vehicle registration and insurance, and two forms of ID.
- If you’re under 18, bring a parental consent form.
- There’s a $15 fee.
The test vehicle will be safety inspected. Also remember to not have studded tires on the vehicle unless it’s legal at the time.
Once You Pass
The testing agency will issue you a passing certificate to take to the DMV to get a license.
If You Fail
The test administrator will tell you what you should practice. You can take the road test again in one week.
At larger DMVs, your license will be issued to you on the spot. At a smaller DMV, it will be sent out to you right away. Driver's licenses are mailed on Wednesdays and Fridays.
If you have a valid driver’s license from another country, the procedure for getting an Alaskan driver’s license is the nearly the same as if you moved from another state. After 90 days, you’ll have to get your Alaskan license.
If you’re from Canada, you’ll have to give your license to the DMV. Then you must:
- Provide Proof of Name, date of birth, and social security number.
- Pass the written and vision tests.
- Pay the $20 fee.
- Pass the road test ($15). Canadians are exempt.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.